When I gave up my simple maxi skirts ten years ago after my first baby I thought that would be the end of my maxi skirt days. Little did I know that it was just the start of a wider and look into “the skirt”. The maxi skirt has popped up all summer however I think it is a brilliant Autumn and Winter piece as well. A maxi with a fitted sweater or a silk top can be an amazing fit for an evening out this coming winter. This California fresh red carpet look is among my favorites for the maxi trend. I like the simple pairing on Mary Kate. If you feel the look is lacking you can add a wide belt however, I love the simplicity of this style.

Here in Los Angeles, Summer never sleeps. I am a fan of this skirt Rachel Bilson is in. The color palette is a perfect three-way transition from Summer, Fall and Winter. I would love to see a pair of tan heeled boots with this skirt.

asos easy chic maxi
asos easy chic maxi by bigstyle featuring gold rings

I paired up a simple Asos pleated skirt in a few darker Winter shades for an evening look. Maxi skirts can be tricky when it comes to height or the illusion of height. Skirts like maxi’s can elongate your body and lean out your frame if picked correctly and paired with the right accessories. Pleat’s for instance are harder to work with but they have great movement and can hug your curves perfectly if you pick the pleat properly! First, pick a strong fold not a soft billowing fold. Second, a medium-sized pleat (about 1″ thick) is the best as the large will not lay on you curves properly and the smaller size will stick out all over the place. I like pairing pleat’s with slightly longer fitted shirts and heels, I think both things slim the body.

Bright Maxi
Bright Maxi by bigstyle featuring hair clip accessories

I love bright jewel tones year round with things like a crisp white shirt. This look is classic with a subtle twist.

Mara Hoffman Maxi look
Mara Hoffman Maxi look by bigstyle featuring a studded satchel

Mara Hoffman!! My favorite skirt by far. I had to add it just because I love it so! I hope to grab this one for myself. It is always easy to grab the simple black skirt but this one is so much fun and full of possibilities!