Archives for the day of: September 23, 2011

Okay, I was one of the lucky few that got my hands on a few pieces from the Missoni for Target collaboration. I did not go, I was lucky enough to have a good friend get up at the crack of dawn and brave the fist fighting (seriously) women that follow you through the store waiting for you to put things down. Her and my husband surprised me with a few key pieces for my birthday. Now I was happy none the less to sit this one out and call it a day and with the hope that I would score a piece or two on Ebay in a few months when the prices calmed down a bit.

I as usual was cruising the local shopping sites and came upon not one but two pairs of Missoni for Target Wellies for a whopping $31,000 and the second pair for $15,000. This nearly made my little fashion head explode. I get the catch,a mom is desperately trying to fund her daughters college education and in exchange you get a pair of boots and you are doing a good deed for the cost of 31k.

Missoni boots

Missoni boots (see more low heel boots)
The second listing is for two sisters trying to replace a shag rug that belongs to their mom, then a spa day for each of them. The listing underneath the main topic says “What the Hell?” , I have to give it to them I was impressed for the b*lls they have on them. I hope they all get what they want. They are all big dreamers. I was surprised when I saw some sellers asking $300 for a pair of the boots and $1000 for the bikes. I love that Missoni did the line with Target but lets a little perspective. All high-end fashion houses put out a collection a few times a year. So we can consider all collections limited. A pair of Missoni rain boots go for about $300 not on sale like the one pair in the picture above. While I love the idea they have and the other Ebay seller’s moxie, I would rather hit or miss at the actual sale or buy the real deal from Missoni!


Gap Twill Jacket
Gap Twill Jacket by bigstyle featuring summer bags

In honor of the first day of Autumn I am think a transitional piece is in order today!

Long sleeves, notched collar, two-button front, angled welt chest pocket. Besom pockets with flap closures, vent along rear hem. Slim fit and hits at the hips.

Sizes 0 – 20

Price $110.00 – $79.99

The link: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?pid=854929002&tid=goaff2687457&ap=2&siteID=goafcid150


The time is fast approaching as it does every year when people line up at the glass doors of H&M going as far as around the block at 4:00 am with stadium chairs rain or shine. Some of the fashion crazed starry-eyed women are ready to claw out the eyes and shove the girl in front of her for a small piece of the limited H&M collection. In years past we have seen the likes of Jimmy Choo, Lanvin, Roberto Cavalli, Comme Des Garcons, Karl Lagerfeld  and Stella McCartney. This year we are going to see the super lux Versace collaborate with the fashion forward H&M. Let the website stalking and the in store cat fights begin. I go to most of the limited edition collaboration sales and H&M is always the most cut throat and crazy.

Year after year the clothing is impeccable and they offer something for everyone. Last year, Lavin had a versatile collection and a full accessories line to finish the looks. The Versace line, I am sure will be just as exceptional. The color palette, patterns and textures are an insane mix and match. From the limited amount of pictures released it looks very structured with some Asian influences. My love  and hate about this line is the strong nearly identical look to the 2010 resort collection dress. Is this line going to be repeats for previous lines Versace has put out over the last few years or is this dress a fluke? Missoni for Target had a few pieces that had the signature Missoni pattern everyone loves which is why we all flocked to the stores that faithful morning, however it was not a total nod to their patterns.

The pants in the picture of completely sexy. The dress pairing and pant is a bit one note being that they are matching. I am dying to know if the chunky gold cuff, bracelet are apart of the collection. The earrings are also lovely. I am wondering how heavy they are, they might look good but hang to heavy to wear.

The black dress has perfect structure. I would like this as a nice little black dress. I like that they are using the signature Versace detail pattern along the bottom and trim of the separates.

This is the dress that I like the most. The pattern on the front and the cut will be flattering on a curvy women.

This is a fabulous example of the pattern and color mixing we are going to see. The picture makes me giddy!